To enter any of the Events at Jedburgh Border Games click on the Borders Athletics link below and follow the instructions on the Index Page. The Jedburgh Entry Form is the second listed meeting for both Adult and Youths Entries

1st Prize
2nd Prize
3rd Prize
Jeanette Wight
Edith Hardy
Geoff Rae

Jedforest Instrumental Band Heralds in Games Day 2018



About Us 1853-1877
Our Story 1878-1899
Jedsprint 1900-1914
Programme 1919-1939
Results 1946-1959
Fancy Dress Parade 1960-1972
Marching from lower Canongate, a supplement from the Jedforest Instrumental Band marches toward Market Place to herald in Games morning as they have done since the inauguration of the Games in 1853. The firing of the fourth cannon is their signal to strike up the music, which is also the signal to start the 'Race roond the Toon.'

Teri distance runner wins the Big Sprint Title on the Day

Kyle Potts, a young council worker from Hawick had good reason to celebrate at the Jethart Games meeting on Saturday by winning the coveted 110metres Jedforest Sprint and all the prestige and glory that accompanies the winner of this celebrated event. As a distance runner Potts was obviously ready to to compete in the hard stuff this year by going for the big prize of £3,000. Originally trained by the 1999 Sprint winner Michael Yule, he managed to get off to a good start from his mark of 9½metres and in a powerful burst during the last 40 metres stormed home to break the tape in 11.34 seconds.


TLJT's Chris Miller wearing bib number 18 breaks the tape ahead of local man Greg Turnbull and Lea Stephenson of Hexham to take full honours in the 400 metres Handicap in a winning time of 49.59 seconds.

The Market Place filled with spectators and Ball goers before the hour of 6.00am chimed for the 165th anniversary of Games day 2018. After such a long dry parched season, a cooling breeze was very welcome for the usual annual ceremonies taking place on Games morning at 6.00 am on Saturday 14th July. Led by 2018 Jethart callant Nick Arnold the cannon firing ceremony was carried out with the usual precision and fervour. An exceptionally large turn-out lined up for the Race roond the Toon this year. Off to a roaring start, even though he had jumped the gun was callant Arnold. The fourth cannon starting the race also signalled the toon band who marched from lower Canongate through Market Place as usual to herald in Games Day. It was not long before two female contenders came sprinting up High Street to break the tape and take the prize. A dead heat was given to Errin Coburn and Rachel Herd who shared the winnings and the honoours in this year's Race roond the Toon.
Congratulations to Brenda Rutherford as the first woman to take part in the Old Fogies 60metres Handicap Confined to Jedburgh. Unfortunately for Brenda the winning place was taken by policeman Craig Thomson in a time of 7.85 secs. Second was K. Wood and third position fell to Des Douglas. Hector Patterson of Jedburgh carried off the 90metres Handicap Confined to Jedburgh by winning in 10.55secs. followed in by Zoe Blair and Shellee Fojick who took third place. In an exciting 400metres of the Wallace McDonald Open Handicap, Chris Miller of TLJT was first over the line in 49.59 secs where Greg Turnbull took second place. metres.

Jedburgh Border Games president Andrew Gillan presents the 2018 Jedforest Sprint winner Kyle Potts of Hawick with the Sprint Trophy, winners sash and the first prize of three thousand pounds. An extra ordinary feat for Potts who is usually more at home amongst the distance athletes.

Berwick flyer Cameron Tindle was also up for victory by winning the Border Athletics 100metres Championship. Representing TLJT, Tindle won the title for a second time by surging home in front of Praise Olatoke from Kilbarchan and Kieran Reilly of Lasswade in a time of 11.05 secs. Back marker Marcus Archer of Aberdeen, running off 13metres made his long trip from up north worthwhile by coming out on top in the 200metres Handicap. Archer powered in from behind in the final to snatch first place in 21.75 secs. Graeme Armstrong of Edinburgh off the 36metre mark and Earlston's Mhairi Henderson off 49metres took second and third place. Kobe Stevens of Moorfoot running off a mark of 32½ metres gave an excellent account of himself in challenging his way past the front runners to take the 800metres Handicap in 1 minute 57.82 seconds. Competing from a mark of 115 metres, Fraser Logan of the Central Athletics Club triumphed in the 1500metres Handicap in a winning time of 4 minutes 35.06 Chris Miller of TLJT running off 42 metres romped to a home win in the 400 metres Handicap. Following her win in the 200metres Handicap at CERF Games, Nina Cessford of TLJT, running from a mark of 27metres, breezed to another victory in the Ladies 100metres Handicap in 10.35 seconds. Kelso's David McKay who ran off 8½metres soared to victory in the 90metres Veterans Handicap, while Ryan Elliot from Hawick triumphed in the 100metres Invitation Sprint. In the youths events, Shellee Fojick came high in the honours.


Hawick Peds runner Daniel Elliot wearing the number 5 bib is the winner of the 100 metres Invitation Sprint Handicap, beating Douglas Young of Kelso into second place in a time of 10.69 seconds. K. Reilly from Lasswade took third place.


The14year old first came third in the 90metres Youths confined to Jedburgh Handicap. She thenstarred again by winning the Open Youths 90metres Handicap. Eve Rathie of Leithenburn running off a mark of 78metres showed up well in taking the Youths 400metres Handicap. Aaron Glendinning of Leithenburn running off 20metres made it a double for coach John Motion in the Junior 90metres for Youths Handicap B Race. The TLJT Club produced the winners of the junior and Youths 200metres Handicaps in Grace McWhinnie off the 45metre mark and Brogan Beattie who ran from 22metres. Both excelled. In the Youths 800 metres and 1500metres Handicaps, Iona Jamieson of Teviotdale Harriers who ran off 170 metres and Robbie Welsh of Hawick, running from 260 metres notched up wins. Policeman Craig Thomson won the coveted 60 metres Handicap for Athletes Older than 45 Years. Thomson did the necessary in spikes borrowed from fellow police officer Leigh Marshall, the winner of the New Yearr Sprint in 2008. Dylan Murray and Gavin Maule were first and second in the Jed Renilson race held earlier in the day.

The Andrew & Mary Robson Trophy was awarded to Shelee Fojick of Jed A.C. as the most promising young athlete of the meeting. Shelee led from start to finish to win the M & M Memorial Youths 90 metres A Handicap.

The Radio Borders Trophy for the Best Borders Athlete of the meeting was presented to Kyle Potts of Hawick, winner of the Jed Sprint.

The 'Strud' Stewart Memorial Trophy for the Best Local Athlete of the meeting weas awarded to Cameron Clamp of TLJT

With our most Grateful Thanks to John Slorance from Hawick for his help in puting this article together.


Top of Page